🐧 PENGUIN – WEB TYPOS đŸ¤ˇâ€â™€ď¸

Systematic errors on a website can be a bit loud if you see them over and over again but, how long does it really take to fix them? That’s the question I was faced with when I was navigating through the Spanish website of Penguin and…

Screencap from: https://www.penguinlibros.com/es/83-uso-de-la-lengua-y-diccionarios

I still do not know fore sure. Let me start by the beginning.

One of the websites I often check is https://www.penguinlibros.com/es/# There are not only a wide range of wonderful books in the shop but also great blog posts regarding the world of literature. My issue was that I kept on bumping with a couple of typos that I thought could be easily corrected so I tried to contact Penguin since I though they could be interested in this matter.

Firstly, I sent a private message through Instagram simply stating that I had found this problem and asking if they could please facilitate an email of the person that would manage this kind of issue. Honestly, I did not want to attach the various pics in vain. No answer whatsoever.

Then I decided to send them a tweet instead but… nothing. I understand it is a big busy company so the next day I decided to tweet the screencaps with a mention in the message so they would deal with these whenever they thought best.  Here is my Twitter thread:

To sum up:

I am writing to you because there are already several typographical errors that I have come across while browsing the web and I thought that perhaps you would be interested in them in order to present a webpage that a publisher like you deserves. […] From the article published yesterday to the last one available, the following structure is repeated without accent marks. […] I’ve also seen non-translated text. […] Thanks for the work you do and I hope these help you.

Once I submitted the tweet, I completely forgot about it and hoped it would help to improve the website’s image a bit at least. That was about 5 weeks ago and today I don’t know why it came to mind and I went to check if any changes were made.

The typos I pointed out were only found through brief browsing of the web so I didn’t put much effort to find them but today when I was looking forward to seeing them corrected not only these were still there but also, I realized these were in every single section but the main page. You will find the tu without an accent mark in all these sections but the main page.

As you see in the previous gallery the typo is repeated in all those sections and it would be a titanic effort to add all of those here but you can check them on the web. An example:

Screencap from: https://www.penguinlibros.com/es/83-uso-de-la-lengua-y-diccionarios

Also, the correct form in the main webpage:

Screencap from: https://www.penguinlibros.com/es/

TĂş > a personal pronoun = You (informal)

Tu > a possessive adjective = Your (informal)

Moreover, the other repeated typo is a lack of accent marks that appears in almost every post article within the Recomendaciones section but that is properly written in the Ficha del libro web version. Just an example:

If I am honest, I was a bit surprised to find such a renowned publisher not taking care of its web image in that way. I know it is a small matter but I thought these were quick changes that could be instantly made so, who knows? I am sure they must have a valid reason. I just wanted to give them a hand. It is good to know that even the pros make mistakes. 🙂

Leave a comment