🎤 Eurovision: 🇵🇹 >🏆

What a wonderful night we had last Saturday and mainly because of this:

The Eurovision festival is known among other things for its craziness. Insane looks, tunes, choreographies, singers… but the stunning performance that won the show had none of that. It was so pure and simple!

And for me, Salvador Sobral just kept on winning through the whole festival. The way he encouraged the audience to cheer when his sister Luisa (writer of the song btw) was singing, this jumper

C_zLfqsXYAArRUk

his final speech:

“I want to say that we live in a world of disposable music, fast food music without any content, and I think this could be a victory for music. with people who make music that actually means something. Music is not fireworks, music is feeling, so let’s try to do change this, and bring music back.”

Also, the fact that he sang in his mother tongue. I read in an article that was talking about the song: “It was immensely, stoppingly surprising, and reminds us that Portuguese is quite possibly the loveliest language in which to sing soft, good, songs.”

This song is a perfect taste of the Portuguese language. Very basic vocab, short, memorable… so I would easily recommend the lyrics in a languages lesson (on European languages, a Portuguese taster…). Take a look:

🇵🇹

Se um dia alguém perguntar por mim
Diz que vivi p’ra te amar
Antes de ti, só existi
Cansado e sem nada p’ra dar

Meu bem, ouve as minhas preces
Peço que regresses, que me voltes a querer
Eu sei que não se ama sozinho
Talves devagarinho possas voltar a aprender

Meu bem, ouve as minhas preces
Peço que regresses, que me voltes a querer
Eu sei que não se ama sozinho
Talves devagarinho possas voltar a aprender

Se o teu coração não quiser ceder
Não sentir paixão, não quiser sofrer
Sem fazer planos do que virá depois
O meu coração pode amar pelos dois

🇬🇧

If one day someone asks about me
Say that I lived just to love you
Before you, I only existed
Tired and without a thing to offer

My dear, listen to my prayers
I ask you to come back, that you come back to love me
I know we can’t love alone
Maybe little by little you can learn again

My dear, listen to my prayers
I ask you to come back, that you come back to love me
I know we can’t love alone
Maybe little by little you can learn again

If your heart doesn’t want to give in,
If it doesn’t want to feel passion, if it doesn’t want to suffer,
Without having to plan what awaits us afterwards,
My heart can love for us both

The most shocking moment of the night? When Ireland did not vote for the UK at all! Like…

Signs GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

And what to say about my own country, Spain? Let’s leave it LOL because there is not enough space to compile all the hilarious posts people made (mostly by Spaniards, I love our sense of humour) about the most embarrassing performance of the whole show. Ok… maybe just this one so you can judge for yourselves:

Leave a Reply

