Culture: Valentine’s day 🗺️❤️️+🇪🇸

LOVE. What a great reason to celebrate!

Valentine’s Day is one of those festivities (so commercial and with such a universal topic) that counts with a humongous amount of materials that can be taken to the classroom. For that reason, I’ve decided to share my selection for this year, just in case you want to get some ideas in no time.

My first pic is this infographic (even if I am no big fan of using infographics often because I think they are being overused these days) that reminded me of my uni days and how mistaken I was about how simple the celebration is.

Print

I thought it was a simple exchange of sweet presents but my housemate from Japan, Kiyo, showed me how wrong I was. Everything started with a very cheeky comment I made about Valentine’s Day coming up. I jokingly said: – So, what are you going to get me for Valentine’s Day? To what he answered: – Oh no, what are YOU going to get ME for Valentine’s Day? In Japan, the girls are the ones who give the gifts and then the boys can return the gesture a month later.

I LOVED the whole idea. I thought it was very thoughtful and a great concept since in that way the other person had the chance of getting something as valuable at least in exchange perhaps. And it was a strong contrast with the old fashioned idea where only the boys had to shower the girls with exquisite gifts. Also, there was chocolate involved so it sounded like pure perfection to me.

Then the other housemates (from different nationalities) joined the conversation to explain how the celebration was approached in their countries. It was an amazing cultural exchange and for that reason, I think kids would benefit from this bit of info.

My second choice is linked to the idea I mentioned before. That awkward situation when you exchange gifts and one is clearly more valuable than the other one. The National Lottery of Spain decided to release this add with the purpose of promoting the special lottery draw on Valentine’s Day and it is excellent because the video is really short and even if one struggles understanding some words (all in all the vocab is really simple) the images are self-explanatory.

anuncio-loteria

Some questions that can be asked based on the video are: -Did this ever happened to you? What happened if so? – How would you react if you get the cheapest gift? Or the most expensive one?

Moreover, you could even review the comparatives with the different presents but something I particularly like is one of the expressions they use. “Lo has clavao!” –  You’ve nailed it. Students love to feel like they can talk like the locals do. It is a plus. So whether you use these materials or not I hope you all clavéis your lessons on the topic. Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

Leave a Reply

